top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoyce May

Creating a Rhinestone template with your Cricut/Silhouette

Updated: Aug 8, 2021

I will not write the full article as I can see some articles in the Internet so I will link it directly.

To create the template I used Silhouette Design which was way easier than the Inkscape, but Inkscape is free.

Creating template with Silhouette.

If you are designing fonts, I found this free font by Rhinestone World

Creating template with Inkscape


With the Silhouette, I have 2mm Rhinestones so the Rhinestone size is 6ss. Release Rhinestones to edit individual stones, I did not change anything so I left as is, weld design and save file as SVG.


I uploaded the design to my Cricut, edit the size to make sure it was the same as it was in Silhouette (there were some size changes) and cut on Cereal box settings (deep point blade).


I stuck the cereal box on to my table and pour the rhinestones over, and made sure they were the right side up.



I also tried with a regular Siser Stripflock and iron it on to a cereal box, just to see the difference. I didn't spot any difference to be honest, I still had to make sure they were facing the right side up.

I used a used HTV plastic sheet to stick on to it, just make sure it is sticky to stick all the rhinestones on it. You may also use heat resistant tape. The 2nd time I tried, I couldn't lift my plastic sheet because it was too sticky and would rip the cardstock, and all the rhinestones will drop from the plastic sheet. Therefore, it is better to cut both cereal box and stripflock, and stick stripflock on to the cereal box template. The cereal box will give it some depth for rhinestones to fall in, and the stripflock will prevent the transfer tape from ripping and dropping rhinestones.




I iron on 170 deg Celsius for 15 seconds with my Easypress mini, you may also use a regular dry iron.

For the word, I used a free font available at Rhinestone World.

I ensured the rhinestone size is correct by following this video tutorial.





I am not paid by anyone for this post. It was purely out of curiosity to try this, I also teach Cricut classes, please contact me if you wish to learn from me. Hope you enjoy experimenting this!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page